The Honourable Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Wemimo Jones has bagged the Democracy Newsline Newspaper Award (DNNA) as the Best Performing Commissioner in Kogi State, this is in recognition of his giant efforts towards the repositioning of the sector in the State 

The Commissioner could not attend the award presentation ceremony held on 18th October 2023 at National Merit House Maitama, Abuja due to his tight schedules and electioneering campaigns of the just concluded Governorship election in Kogi state.

While presenting the award of honour to the workaholic Banker/Event Manager turned politician in the office of the Secretary to the State Government in Lokoja, the publisher said it was in celebration of the thirteenth (13th) Anniversary of the media outfit and also in commemoration of the sixty-three (63) years Anniversary of Nigeria’s Political Independence.

The Publisher/CEO, Olugbemi Femi noted that the occasion is an opportunity to recognize and appreciate the talents, achievements and contributions of individuals and organizations who have remarkably excelled in their respective fields of endeavours. 

He further acknowledged that each of the awardees has demonstrated exceptional abilities, determination and unwavering commitment towards excellence, stressing that they have not only set new standards of excellence but have also become beacons of inspiration for others to follow.

The highly elated Commissioner of Education, Science and Technology commended the organizers for a well-thought-out effort to recognize individuals and organizations who have contributed in one or another to the development of the human race, hence he is happy to be part of the 13th edition of the event. Although he was not able to attend, he used the occasion to thank Governor Yahaya Bello who allowed him to serve in his administration.

Meanwhile, the management honoured him in line with the reports from a panel of experts who nominated him for the award in recognition of his monumental achievements as Commissioner of Education, Science and Technology, under whose leadership, two state-owned universities was established within three years, construction of GYB Model Science Schools across the state, repositioning of Prince Abubakar Audu University, Ayingba, upgrading of infrastructure facilities, employment of young teaching and non teaching staff in all tertiary institutions in the state, just to mention few.

Other recipients of the Leadership Award of Excellence were H.E.Dr.Abdullahi Ganduje, National Chairman APC, H.E.Gen. Buba Marwa (Rtd) Chairman/CEO NDLEA, Vice Admiral Joseph Ajayi (Rtd), Engr. Olusegun Toluhi, Vice Admiral Jibrin Usman (Rtd) former Chief of Naval Staff, Dr. Tosin Oluyoko and Hajia Hadiza Mamman Vasta.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

− 5 = 1